Best Seller


Model: 382680

SKU: 382680 Product ID: 273470

Format ‐ LP

Genre ‐ Rock

Release Date ‐ 31/07/20


Add to Cart


    Auckland alt-rock outfit CITY | OF | SOULS have dropped their mammoth 16 track debut album SYNÆSTHESIA, now available on 180 gram vinyl in a first pressing limited to just 300 copies.


    SYNÆSTHESIA has been an album five years in the making. Produced, engineered and mixed by Forrester Savell (Sikth, Karnivool, SkyHarbor, Animals As Leaders, Shihad) the recording is a sprawling cinematic experience, equal parts heavy and lush. Different flavours emerging with the newer tracks as the band have grown and begun writing together, touring across Australia and New Zealand, as well as collectively sharing stages with internationally renowned acts.


    One of New Zealand’s most reputable alt rock acts, CITY | OF | SOULS was formed in August 2015 by guitarists Trajan Schwencke (Cold by Winter, In Dread Response) and Steve Boag (In Dread Response, Blacklistt). Vocalist Richie Simpson (New Way Home) found their existing tracks immediately captivating and joined the band. Guitarist Marcus Powell (founding member of multi-platinum bands

    Blindspott and Blacklistt) then joined, and the line-up was complete with Daniel Insley on Bass (Solstate) and Drummer Corey Friedlander (In Dread Response, 8 Foot Sativa).


    The credentials are strong in this band going back over 20 years in the Auckland hardcore, post hardcore, prog and metal scenes. However, arriving at a new more mature sound, deeper influences and a crystallised vision of what to bring to the world they've set themselves firmly apart from their previous exploits.


    “CITY | OF | SOULS have hit every single obstacle and block you can imagine. For us, this album is about endurance, passion, and a deep love for music. We have had these songs written and recorded with (producer) Forrester Savell for a long time but for whatever reason, our timelines and plans kept changing. What I love is the solidarity and persistence within the CITY | OF | SOULS family have pushed through. No matter what happened with the cancelled tours, shows, album deals and record labels we, as a collective, have stayed strong and loyal. To say we are excited to release this album is an understatement”


    SYNÆSTHESIA was released on May 1st, 2020.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - CITY OF SOULS

    Label - CITY OF SOULS

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Metal

Track Listing

Side A

  1. Lifeblood
  2. Ferryman
  3. Whispers
  4. Cruelty

Side B

  1. Shimmer
  2. Wolf
  3. White Ghost
  4. Sleep

Side C

  1. Water
  2. Long Gone
  3. Tying Tongues
  4. Brush Strokes

Side D

  1. L W T U A
  2. Mountain
  3. Iron Heart
  4. Synaesthesia

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.