Solid Air Classics Revisited

Model: SMACDX1028

SKU: 377250 Product ID: 268937

Format ‐ 2CD

Genre ‐ Popular

Release Date ‐ 24/01/20

  + delivery from $1.50

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart



    “Martyn is a shambling genius of great originality and is by definition a major artist, although it appears, he will be forever denied commercial success” Colin Larkin John Martyn is the legendary British singer-songwriter and guitarist, once described by The Times as "an electrifying guitarist and singer whose music blurred the boundaries between folk, jazz, rock and blues". With a career spanning over 40 years, he released 21 studio albums, working with such luminaries as Eric Clapton, David Gilmour and Phil Collins. Martyn began his professional musical career when he was 17, playing a blend of blues and folk resulting in a distinctive style which made him a key figure in the British folk scene during the mid-1960s. It was in the 70s that Martyn found fame as a solo artist and in '73 he released one of the defining British albums of the decade, Solid Air, originally with Island Records, the title song being a tribute to the singer-songwriter Nick Drake, a close friend and label-mate, who sadly died in 1974.

    ‘Solid Air (Classics Revisited)’ contains 28 of Martyn's classic tracks in celebration of a legend. The selections date from the early 90s, but it's a testament to both singer and songs that you'd be hard-pressed to pin a date on them. Just to make life more complicated, all but the last five (which come from 1990's 'The Apprentice') appeared on a pair of albums from '92 and '93 in which John revisited two decades' worth of back catalogue in the company of such long-time pals as Phil Collins, Pink Floyd's Dave Gilmour and the Band's Levon Helm. This mid-price 2CD jewel case edition features an 8-page booklet.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - MARTYN, JOHN

    Label - Southbound

    Music Genre - Popular

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Look At That Girl
  2. Income Town
  3. Send Me One Line
  4. Deny This Love
  5. The Apprentice
  6. Ways To Cry
  7. Head & Heart
  8. Sundays Child
  9. One Day Without You
  10. Just Now
  11. I Don`t Wanna Know
  12. Fine Lines
  13. One World
  14. Rock, Salt & Nails

Disc 2

  1. Couldn`t Love You More
  2. Sweet Little Mystery
  3. Over The Hill
  4. May You Never
  5. Angeline
  6. Man In The Station
  7. Solid Air
  8. Bless The Weather
  9. Johnny Too Bad
  10. Sapphire
  11. Fisherman`s Dream
  12. Big Muff
  13. Easy Blues
  14. Dealer

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.