Healing Game, The (Deluxe Edition)

Model: 88985428402

SKU: 363545 Product ID: 259011

Format ‐ 3CD

Genre ‐ Jazz

Release Date ‐ 05/04/19

  + delivery from $1.50

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    Deluxe 3CD Edition!

    The latest volume in the Van Morrison catalogue reissue project, The Healing Game (Deluxe Edition) is a three-disc collection chronicling the sessions, collaborations and live performances surrounding Van Morrison’s mid-career masterpiece.

    Originally released in 1997, The Healing Game marked an important transition for Van Morrison. He assembled a killer new band, including saxophonist Pee Wee Ellis, Georgie Fame and bassist Alec Dankworth, and dove back into jazz. The end result, the visionary album The Healing Game, reinforced Morrison’s reputation as an artist ready and eager to pursue his muses to new and unexpected places.

    The Healing Game Deluxe Edition 3CD set includes the original album along with two bonus discs of rare content, including five bonus singles and collaborations with Carl Perkins, John Lee Hooker and Lonnie Donegan. Also featured is the complete recording of Van Morrison's much-sought-after concert performance, Live at Montreux 1997, officially available for the first time–with pristine state-of-the-art audio.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - MORRISON, VAN

    Label - Sony

    Music Genre - Jazz

    Music Genre Primary - Jazz

    Music Genre Secondary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Rough God Goes Riding
  2. Fire in the Belly
  3. This Weight
  4. Waiting Game
  5. Piper at the Gates of Dawn
  6. Burning Ground
  7. It Once Was My Life
  8. Sometimes We Cry
  9. If You Love Me
  10. The Healing Game
  11. Look What the Good People Done (Bonus Track)
  12. At the End of the Day (Bonus Track)
  13. The Healing Game (single version) (Bonus Track)
  14. Full Force Gale '96 (single version) (Bonus Track)
  15. St. Dominic's Preview (Bonus Track)


  1. The Healing Game (alternate version) (previously unissued)
  2. Fire in the Belly (alternate version) (previously unissued)
  3. Didn't He Ramble (previously unissued)
  4. The Healing Game (jazz version) (previously unissued)
  5. Sometimes We Cry (full length version) (previously unissued)
  6. Mule Skinner Blues
  7. A Kiss to Build a Dream On (previously unissued)
  8. Don't Look Back - John Lee Hooker
  9. The Healing Game - John Lee Hooker
  10. Boppin' the Blues - Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  11. Matchbox - Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  12. Sittin' on Top of the World - Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (arranged by Van Morrison)
  13. My Angel - Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  14. All By Myself - Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  15. Mule Skinner Blues - Lonnie Donegan & Van Morrison

Disc 3 - LIVE AT MONTREUX 17 JULY 1997 (all tracks previously unreleased)

  1. Rough God Goes Riding
  2. Foreign Window
  3. Tore Down A La Rimbaud
  4. Vanlose Stairway/Trans-Euro Train
  5. Fool For You
  6. Sometimes We Cry
  7. It Once Was My Life
  8. I'm Not Feeling It Anymore
  9. This Weight
  10. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  11. Fire in the Belly
  12. Tupelo Honey/Why Must I Always Explain
  13. The Healing Game
  14. See Me Through/Soldier of Fortune/Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)/Burning Ground

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.