What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down

Model: B003288502

SKU: 385884 Product ID: 275648

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Hip Hop / Rap

Release Date ‐ 25/09/20


Add to Cart


    After over two decades, Public Enemy - the iconic group whose message of revolution, social justice, and racial equality is more potent and necessary today than ever - finally reunites with the historic label it helped build into a globally recognized brand: Def Jam Recordings.

    Public Enemy and Def Jam have reunited to officially release “Fight the Power (Remix 2020),” the explosive remix that opened the 2020 BET Awards in June featuring Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, YG, Jahi and Questlove. “Fight the Power (2020 Remix),” is the first offering from the group’s forthcoming new studio album What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down, set for release via Def Jam on September 25th.
    “Fight the Power (Remix 2020)” was recorded in June with the addition of new lyrics that reflect the global protests over the deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor and far too many more. The video features performances by the artists, filmed separately due to social distancing, and intercut with powerful protest footage.
    "Cultural Institutions are important. Being an integral part of one is an honor bestowed and to uphold,” says Chuck D. “Public Enemy songs are forever sonic prints in the sands of time. And it’s time - it’s necessary - to bring the noise again from a place called home. Def Jam. Fight The Power 2020.” Flavor Flav adds, “Def Jam is like the house we grew up in. It’s cool to be home.”

    “Like so many of us, I have long been a Public Enemy fan, and the group was incredibly formative for me and the path I would take,” said Def Jam Chairman & CEO, UMG General Counsel Jeff Harleston. “PE has consistently been a living example of how music can profoundly move and unite people, and affect real change in the national conversation. As we continue to confront inequality and injustice, we need PE’s voice in the national dialogue. Def Jam is proud to partner with Chuck and welcome Public Enemy home.”

    “For true fans of hip-hop all over the world, this is a historic moment,” said Def Jam GM & EVP Rich Isaacson. “Bringing Public Enemy home to Def Jam - in a time when their message is more necessary than ever - is a profound statement and a much-needed reunion. We are beyond excited to once again lock arms with the legendary Public Enemy.”


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - PUBLIC ENEMY

    Label - Def Jam

    Music Genre - Hip Hop / Rap

    Music Genre Primary - Urban & Hip Hop

Track Listing


  1. When The Grid Goes Down ft. George Clinton
  2. Grid ft. Cypress Hill and George Clinton
  3. State of the Union (STFU) ft. DJ Premier
  4. Merica Mirror ft.. Pop Diesel
  5. Public Enemy Number Won ft. Mike D, Ad-Rock, Run-DMC
  6. Toxic
  7. Yesterday Man ft. Daddy-O
  8. Crossroads Burning (Interlude) ft. James Bomb
  9. Fight The Power: Remix 2020 ft. Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, Jahi, YG, Questlove
  10. Beat Them All
  11. Smash The Crowd ft.. Ice-T, PMD
  12. If You Cant Join Em Beat Em
  13. Go At It ft. Jahi
  14. Dont Look At The Sky (Interlude) ft. Mark Jenkins
  15. Rest In Beats ft. The Impossebulls
  16. R.I.P. Blackat
  17. Closing: I Am Black ft. Ms. Ariel

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.