Alien Weaponry

TU (vinyl)

Model: NPRLP0000785

SKU: 349223 Product ID: 248311

Format ‐ 12"

Genre ‐ Heavy Metal

Release Date ‐ 01/06/18

  + delivery from $2.00

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    ALIEN WEAPONRY's songwriting is complex, developed and highly political. Their live performance energy is startling, with just two fifteen-year olds commanding the front of stage as effectively as four- and five-piece bands three times their age. Many of their songs are in New Zealand’s native language, Te Reo Māori. In fact, guitarist/lead singer Lewis de Jong (15) and his brother, drummer Henry (17), are of Ngati Pikiāo and Ngati Raukawa descent – they call themselves ‘Stealth Māori.’ They attended a full immersion kura kaupapa Māori (Māori language school) until they were seven years old, where singing waiata and performing haka were a daily routine. Also ingrained in their early learning were stories of New Zealand history from a Māori perspective. In September 2017, they won the prestigious „APRA Maioha award" for their song ‘Raupatu’ – a thrash metal commentary on the 1863 act of parliament that allowed the colonial government to confiscate vast areas of land from the indigenous Māori people. On 16 November, they took their places among NZ’s musical elite as nominees at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.


    The combination of thrash metal with Māori history and language has proved popular. Their latest music video for Rū Ana Te Whenua has more than a million Youtube and Facebook views, spent 2 weeks at no. 1 on Spotify’s NZ Viral chart, and hit no. 2 on the iTunes global metal chart (just behind Iron Maiden’s ‘Run to the Hills’). The band’s music has been playlisted on stations in New Zealand and around the world – from Scotland to Brazil, as well as the USA, Australia and Germany.



    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - Alien Weaponry

    Label - Rhythmethod

    Music Genre - Heavy Metal

    Music Genre Primary - Metal

Track Listing


  1. Whaikorero
  2. R Ana Te Whenua
  3. Holding My Breath
  4. Raupatu
  5. Kai Tangata
  6. Rage - It Takes Over Again
  7. The Things That You Know (Bonus Track)
  8. Whispers
  9. PC Bro
  10. Urutaa
  11. Nobody Here
  12. Te Ara
  13. Hypocrite (Bonus Track)

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.