Sky Blue

Model: FP1706-2

SKU: 362633 Product ID: 258334

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Country

Release Date ‐ 08/03/19

  + delivery from $1.50

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    An intimate collection from one of the greatest songwriters of all time – Sky Blue is a compilation of unheard Townes Van Zandt raSky Blue, a collection of unreleased songs by one of the most celebrated songwriters of the twentieth century, is a time capsule that Townes Van Zandt created forty-six years ago, and we’re only now just unearthing and opening it to find the treasures inside.

    These tracks will sound both fresh and familiar to even the most avid fans. Sky Blue includes eleven unreleased recordings made in early 1973 with the late Bill Hedgepeth, a journalist, musician, and most crucially a close friend of Townes. The singer-songwriter was splitting his time between Texas, Colorado, and a shack outside Franklin, Tennessee: an itinerant life that informed many of his most famous and beloved tunes. Throughout his life he would often return to Hedgepeth’s home studio in Atlanta, later with family in tow, to record, re-work, and experiment with new songs as well as old favourites.

    In addition to a handful of old favourites, Sky Blue also includes two new songs that have never been heard before, ”All I Need” and “Sky Blue”—as well as covers of songs by Richard Dobson and Tom Paxton. There is a smoky version of “Blue Ridge Mountain Blues” and a scarred and scarring interpretation of “Hills of Roane County”, an East Tennessee murder ballad from the 1880s that was popularized by Tony Rice. Van Zandt performs them deftly, sings them intuitively, and displays his delightfully twisted sense of humour on the devious “Snake Song” and the vicious “Dream Spider”.
    rities, available  on Fat Possum via Inertia.

    Released in tandem for what would have been his 75th birthday, Sky Blue pulls together two brand new songs, a few covers and five Van Zandt gems for this must-have collection.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - VAN ZANDT, TOWNES

    Label - Fat Possum

    Music Genre - Country

    Music Genre Primary - Country

    Music Genre Secondary - Folk

Track Listing


  1. All I Need
  2. Rexs Blues
  3. The Hills of Roane
  4. Sky Blue
  5. Forever, For Always For Certain
  6. Blue Ridge Mtns.
  7. Pancho & Lefty
  8. Snake Song
  9. Silver Ships of Andilar
  10. Dream Spider
  11. Last Thing On My Mind

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.