Model: 4832948

SKU: 349557 Product ID: 248620

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Classical

Release Date ‐ 01/06/18

  + delivery from $1.50

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    Sheku Kanneh-Mason wowed an global audience with his Royal Wedding performance. It was an extraordinary day for one teenage cellist: Sheku Kanneh-Mason. His sensational performance at the Royal Wedding stunned honoured guests at the ceremony and a billion more watching around the world. BBC Young Musician of the Year in 2016, Sheku pays tribute to his mentors and heroes on his thrilling debut album, ‘Inspiration’, featuring a broad range of music from Bob Marley and Jacqueline du Pre to Shostakovich, including some of Sheku's own arrangements. The album includes Shostakovich Cello Concerto No.1, the concerto Sheku performed in the BBCYM final.

    The images shout urban cool, although there's nothing cool or gritty about the sounds produced from his Amati cello of 1610. They're always heartfelt, often as yielding as softened butter, and they shine out of every track...even at the start of his career, nothing masks the authority or technical finesse of his playing...Above all, Kanneh-Mason's playing radiates love of life, commitment and hope. - The Times


    "The playing here, disarmingly gentle yet tonally seductive, has a songful use of vibrato that recalls the expressive manners of Pierre Fournier and du Pré herself…A most rewarding CD then, sure evidence that we should henceforth be on the lookout for any performances, recorded or live, that involve Sheku Kanneh-Mason." - Gramophone


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Decca

    Music Genre - Classical

    Music Genre Primary - Classical

Track Listing


  1. Hadar: Evening Of Roses (Arr. Cello, Clarinet & Ensemble)
  2. Saint-Saëns: Le Carnaval des Animaux, R.125: 13. The Swan (Arr. Cello, Harp & Ensemble)
  3. Anonymous: Song Of The Birds (Arr. Casals)
  4. Shostakovich: The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: 10. Nocturne (Live In Birmingham / 2017)
  5. Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 in E Flat Major, Op.107: 1. Allegretto (Live In Birmingham / 2017)
  6. Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 in E Flat Major, Op.107: 2. Moderato (Live In Birmingham / 2017)
  7. Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 in E Flat Major, Op.107: 3. Cadenza (Live In Birmingham / 2017)
  8. Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 in E Flat Major, Op.107: 4. Allegro con moto (Live In Birmingham / 2017)
  9. Offenbach: Harmonies des bois, Op. 76: 2. Jacquelines Tears (Arr. Cello & Orchestra) (Live In Nottingham / 2017)
  10. Casals: Sardana
  11. Marley: No Woman, No Cry (Arr. Cello)
  12. Cohen: Hallelujah (Arr. Cello & Strings)

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.