Our New Orleans (Vinyl)

Model: 7559791845

SKU: 391538 Product ID: 280370

Format ‐ 2LP

Genre ‐ Blues

Release Date ‐ 29/01/21

  + delivery from $2.00

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    Nonesuch releases a remastered, special edition of the 2005 record 'Our New Orleans' for the first time on vinyl.  The 2LP set includes five previously unreleased tracks: ‘Do You Know What It Means’, by Davell Crawford; ‘Let's Work Together’, by Buckwheat Zydeco and Ry Cooder; ‘Crescent City Serenade’, by Dr. Michael White; ‘Walking By the River’, by Dr. John; and ‘Do You Know What It Means’, by The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra featuring Donald Harrison.

    For Our New Orleans, many of the Crescent City’s best-known musicians recorded songs that are integral to their lives and that express their feelings about the city and the trauma of Katrina.  The album was made swiftly and simply, over the course of a month, in one-day sessions across the country.  Nick Spitzer, host of public radio’s New Orleans–based American Routes, contributed liner notes to the record, as did Pulitzer Prize–winning author Richard Ford, also a Crescent City resident.  Other producers who made enormous contributions include Mark Bingham, Ry Cooder, Joel and Adam Dorn, Steve Epstein, Joe Henry, Doug Petty, Matt Sakakeeny, and Hal Willner.

    The $1.5 million raised from the 2005 release went toward providing housing in partnership with low-income musicians and others through the New Orleans Habitat Musicians’ Village, a concept that was developed by New Orleans Area Habitat for Humanity, working with Branford Marsalis and Harry Connick, Jr. Habitat–built homes in the village now provide musicians and others of modest means the opportunity to buy decent, affordable housing. The centrepiece of the village is the Ellis Marsalis Center for Music, dedicated to celebrating the music and musicians of New Orleans and to the education and development of homeowners and others who live nearby.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - OUR NEW ORLEANS

    Label - Nonesuch / Warner

    Music Genre - Blues

    Music Genre Primary - Blues & Roots

Track Listing


  1. Yes We Can Can Allen Toussaint
  2. World I Never Made Dr. John
  3. Back Water Blues Irma Thomas
  4. Gather by the River Davell Crawford
  5. Cryin' in the Streets Buckwheat Zydeco


  1. Canal Street Blues Dr. Michael White
  2. Brother John Is Gone / Herc-Jolly-John Wild Magnolias
  3. When the Saints Go Marching In Eddie Bo
  4. My Feet Can't Fail Me Now Dirty Dozen Brass Band
  5. Tou' les jours c'est pas la meme (Every Day Is Not the Same) Carol Fran


  1. L'ouragon (The Hurricane) BeauSoleil
  2. Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans Preservation Hall Jazz Band
  3. Prayer for New Orleans Charlie Miller
  4. What a Wonderful World (feat. Donald Harrison) The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra
  5. Tipitina and Me Allen Toussaint /
  6. Louisiana 1927 (with Members of the New York Philharmonic) Randy Newman and the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra


  1. Do You Know What It Means Davell Crawford *
  2. Let's Work Together Buckwheat Zydeco & Ry Cooder *
  3. Crescent City Serenade Dr. Michael White *
  4. Walking By the River Dr. John *
  5. Do You Know What It Means (feat. Donald Harrison) The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra * *Bonus material

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.