Essential Recordings, The

Model: PRMCD6232

SKU: 346555 Product ID: 245292

Format ‐ 2CD

Genre ‐ Blues

Release Date ‐ 09/03/18

  + delivery from $1.50

  • Click & Collect?

Add to Cart


    There was perhaps no other artist more entitled  to sing the Blues than Champion Jack Dupree, the American Blues pianist and singer who overcame all the hardships that life could throw at him to become  a pivotal part of the U.S. Blues scene and a major influence on the British Blues Boom. The exuberant and life- affirming music presented here is a testament to the triumph of the human spirit over extreme adversity. Spanning 20 years (1941-1961) this set contains all the champ's key recordings. 


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Southbound

    Music Genre - Blues

    Music Genre Primary - Blues & Roots

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Stack-O-Lee
  2. Frankie And Johnny
  3. Junker's Blues
  4. Going Down Slow
  5. Hard Feeling
  6. How Long, How Long Blues
  7. Mean Old Frisco
  8. Bad Whiskey And Wild Women
  9. Bus Sta-on Blues
  10. Highway Blues
  11. Number Nine Blues
  12. The Blues Got Me Rockin'
  13. Please Tell Me Baby
  14. Walkin' Upside Your Head
  15. Let The Doorbell Ring
  16. Blues For Everybody
  17. She Cooks Me Cabbage
  18. Mail Order Woman
  19. When I Got Married

Disc 2

  1. Walking The Blues
  2. Shake, Baby, Shake
  3. Shim Sham Shimmy
  4. Rub A Li_le Boogie
  5. Stumbling Block
  6. Drunk Again
  7. Big Leg Emma's
  8. Overhead
  9. Me And My Mule
  10. Dirty Woman
  11. T. B. Blues
  12. Can't Kick The Habit
  13. Evil Woman
  14. Nasty Boogie
  15. Bad Blood
  16. Don't Leave Me, Mary
  17. Rampart Street Special
  18. Dennis Rag
  19. Sharp Harp
  20. Bad Luck Bound To Change

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.