Soft Bomb (Orange Vinyl)

Model: FN234LP-C1

SKU: 389939 Product ID: 279004

Format ‐ LP

Genre ‐ Alternative

Release Date ‐ 15/01/21


Add to Cart


    Originally released in 1992, The Chills’ third album Soft Bomb features contributions from giants of contemporary American music like Van Dyke Parks and ex dB’s Peter Holsapple as collaborators. A roller coaster 17-song, 51 minute trip, Soft Bomb is a conceptual classic that embraces styles and genres.
    “’Soft Bomb’ was The Chills’ finest hour.” Perfect Sound Forever
    Fronted by the rare talent of Martin Phillipps, The Chills were originally formed in 1980 and had a revolving cast of band members, with Phillipps remaining the only constant. His knack for writing fantastic pop songs led to chart hits back home and a cult following around the world. With their early releases via Flying Nun Records, The Chills produced a number of critically acclaimed recordings such as the single ‘Pink Frost’ (their first hit) from the compilation album Kaleidoscope World and ‘Wet Blanket’ from the LP Brave Words.
    Martin has a single-minded determination to take quality, original NZ-sounding, melodic rock music global. His requirement of band members has been to meet a standard of musicianship, which is necessary to deliver The Chills songs with essential consistent energy. This determination stems from the punk rock ethics of Martin’s musical awakening and from the subsequent proximity to people like Chris Knox who drove home how crucial it was to deliver music always with intensity and conviction. This live energy is the central reason why The Chills are remembered fondly in all of the thirty-nine countries that they have thus far visited. It’s the combination of this AND the consistent quality of their songs which have established The Chills as one of the most well-known New Zealand groups to date.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - CHILLS, THE

    Label - Flying Nun

    Music Genre - Alternative

    Music Genre Primary - Alternative

Track Listing


  1. The Male Monster From The Id
  2. Background Affair
  3. Ocean Ocean
  4. Soft Bomb
  5. There is No Harm in Trying
  6. Strange Case
  7. Soft Bomb II
  8. So Long
  9. Song For Randy Newman Etc.


  1. Sleeping Giants
  2. Double Summer
  3. Sanctuary
  4. Halo Fading
  5. There is No Point in Trying
  6. Entertainer
  7. Water Wolves
  8. Soft Bomb III

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer.